The establishment of The Royal Company’s Officers was fixed by Order of Queen Victoria in 1899. This Order limited The Royal Company to a Captain-General and twenty-four Officers: four Captains, four Lieutenants, four Ensigns and twelve Brigadiers. All these appointments are subject to the Sovereign’s approval and Officers may be presented to The Queen on appointment.


The Royal Company is thus under command of the Captain-General who is also Gold Stick for Scotland. In England, the office of Gold Stick dates from Tudor times but it was not until 1822 that the office of Gold Stick was instituted in Scotland when King George IV presented the Captain-General with a gold stick to ‘pertain to his office’. The President of the Council is Silver Stick for Scotland. Gold Stick and Silver Stick attend the Sovereign on ceremonial occasions. Since 1861, one of the Officers has been appointed Adjutant.


The administration of The Royal Company is in the hands of the Council. This comprises seven of the Officers under the President of the Council. The President is also Silver Stick for Scotland. Since 1676, a Secretary and a Treasurer have been appointed from among the Members and they play an important part in the day-to-day running of the Company’s affairs. There is also a Chaplain, first appointed in 1714, and a Surgeon, first appointed in 1867. Within The Royal Company, Officers with service rank prefix this with their Company rank, thus: ‘Brigadier, Rear-Admiral’ etc.


Officers of The Royal Company

Captain-General and Gold Stick for Scotland – The Duke of Buccleuch and Queensberry KT KBE

President of the Council and Silver Stick for Scotland – Captain, The Earl of Dalhousie

Vice President of the Council – Lieutenant, Sir Robert Clerk of Penicuik Bt OBE

Adjutant – Brigadier, Captain AJ Fraser

Secretary – Colonel CP Wallace DL

Treasurer – Mr CA Anderson

Match Secretary – Major JMR Craig

Surgeon – Major AW Orr FRCGP

Chaplain – The Very Rev Dr John B Cairns KCVO LTh LLB DD LLD

Company Officer – Mr Tymoczko